Geophysics undergraduate interested in environmental law

In summary: They are the ones who will make your noble cause a reality.In summary, this undergraduate degree is a good start for someone interested in pursuing a career in environmental law. However, you will need to work hard to make this into a reality.
John Wilson
Hello,

I am a first year undergraduate student studying geophysics. While I love geophysics and all the geosciences, I'm very interested in going into environmental law. Is this a plausible undergraduate degree for a career in environmental law? I have always loved studying government and politics, and with humans negatively impacting the environment more, I feel that devoting my life to fighting climate change and other environmental issues through means of policy making to be a noble cause.

What do you think?

Physics news on Phys.org
First, "negative impact" is a value judgment. The things that humanity does are not all "bad" for the environment.

Second, there are better ways to building a more comfortable planet than by filing lawsuit after lawsuit. Someone has to design it. If you really want to change the world, be the person who designs and implements these things.

Third, your noble cause is just a matter of keeping things efficient and clean. Another way to look at it is to practice good engineering.

Fourth, I deal with wide eyed believers in this steaming pile of environmentalism every day. They're idealists, not pragmatists. if you want to make a difference, you need to be pragmatic and figure out ways to keep such practices sustainable, while still meeting the needs of society. It is not easy. There is no ONE solution to figuring out how to do this. There have to be compromises.