Gibbs phenomenon caused by digital signal processing?

In summary, the Gibbs phenomenon occurs when there is a phase shift in a wave. It can happen with a sine wave or a square wave. It can be good or bad, depending on the circumstances.
DrOnline
Hi,

I'm an electrical engineer for a few years now, but it's been a while since I had to deal with this kind of stuff, I turned out to become mostly a programmer in the end, but i was thinking: is Gibbs phenomenon, which was demonstrated to me during my studies while working on Fourier series, something which is caused by recreating a digitized signal, or does it also exist in purely analogue electronics? I find the first scenario understandable, but not so easily the second.

This is not some urgent matter I need help with, I just wanted to see if I could get some explanation.

I guess I generally find, that a lot of the things I learned while studying, are harder to glue together into cohesive and lasting understanding, than it was to simply parrot back on the day of the exam!

Engineering news on Phys.org
As best I can recall, the Gibbs phenomenon occurs at discontinuities in a wave. Think of a sine wave that has an instantaneous phase shift of 180 degrees. Wouldn't the Gibbs phenomenon happen for that as well as for a square wave?

DrOnline said:
[...]is Gibbs phenomenon ... something which is caused by recreating a digitized signal, or does it also exist in purely analogue electronics? [...]
IIRC ringing, over/under-shoot, and similar phenomenon are present while sampling analog circuits depending on filter designs and noise conditions. Not always unwanted as early musical synthesizers and 'fuzz tone' modulators took advantage of these phenomena to achieve natural sounding and special effects.