Heating Problem with DIY A/C Electromagnet

In summary: To what? ... this time to the “outer tap and to the center-tap (half winding)” for 12v 5 amps output, and the transformer did not get as hot as before, but the oscillations in the string reduced dramatically.What did you do differently? ... I had another 24v 1amp SD CT transformer with 12-0-12, this one also is getting too hot, but when connected with “outer tap and to the center-tap (half winding)” the transformer is not getting as much hot as earlier!What is the "center tap" and what does it do?
PJP
Hello every one I’m a newbie to electrical stuff (I do have basic knowledge) so please be patient with me, please help me! :frown:
So, coming to the details of my diy project I’m trying to vibrate a metal string with an electromagnet. so, after an ample amount of research I’ve made the electromagnet with the following specs.
  • I’ve took an iron bolt 1-inch in diameter and 5 inches length,
  • I had half kg of (about 30 meters) 17 gauge (SWG) enameled copper wire and wound it for about 432 turns.
The specs of this copper wire are as follows:
o Diameter 1.46,
o The ohms per meter is 0.0109,
o It can carry 6.27 amps.

Brought a step-down transformer (A/C to A/C) with the following specs
o 230v input - 24v 5amps output,
o it’s a center tapped transformer (12-0-12)

I’ve fused the transformer with 600 mA fuse (on primary side :cool:) and everything worked fine (well I’ve expected much more oscillation’s in the string) but after around 5 to 10 minutes I could smell some strange enamel and plastic burning, I noticed that the plastic bobbin of the transformer melting,?:)
I switched every thing off, tried to touch the transformer but I could not place my finger for more than 2 seconds as it was so hot! :mad:

This is how I connected
  • I connected the outer two taps of the secondary to the electromagnet and both the transformer and electromagnet are getting hot pretty quickly,:mad:
So,I tried the following.