Hello, i with lab equipment for electrochemical harvesting of microalgae

In summary, the conversation revolved around an Aquaculture Engineering student at lima attempting to conduct an experiment on electrochemical harvesting of microalgae. The student faced challenges with their weakness in physics and lack of experience in operating the equipment. The setup consisted of a DC power supply and a function generator connected to carbon electrodes in the harvesting chamber. However, when the power supply was turned on, the voltage could be modified but the current did not vary. Additionally, the function generator did not show any change in voltage when it was adjusted in the power supply. The experiment aimed to achieve electroflocculation of microalgae with specific duty cycles and current. It was suggested that the low conductivity of the water might be hindering the
muzcategui
Hello, I'm an Aquaculture Engineering student at lima. I'm trying to do an experiment of electrochemical harvesting of microalgae. But it seems my weakness at physics its getting in the way plus i don't know to well how to operate the equipment which none knows either since its new to the lab. I have a DC Power supply conected to a function generator(utg9010c) (Both are Uni-T) that goes to carbon electrodes in the harvesting chamber (liquid). When i turn on the ´power supply i can modify the voltage but current seems not getting througth since the amps don't vary in the power supply. and the function generator doesn't vary the voltage when i change it in the power supply. it is supose to read in the function generator the voltage I'm applying at the liquid. and the liquid seems like its not getting any current. Does anyona have experience with this kind of equipment?

The objective of the experiment its electrofloculation of microalgae with the carbon electrodes with specifics duty cycles and current.
Sorry if my english its no good :(

Engineering news on Phys.org
muzcategui said: