Homework help: anisotropic elasticity equations

In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of anisotropic elasticity and the use of Lekhnitskii's book for reference. The speaker is having trouble reconciling the general equations of elasticity for an orthotropic body with their own calculations. They are seeking help in identifying their mistake and suggest using the continuity equation to eliminate any cross derivatives.
santamartina

Homework Statement

Hello, I'm studying anisotropic elasticity. One of the books I'm using is Lekhnitskii's. The book presents the general equations of the theory of elasticity for an orthotropic body as follows:

Homework Equations

upload_2018-7-13_9-56-33.png

The Attempt at a Solution

However, when I combine the strain-displacement equations and the Hook's Law and then replace them into the equilibrium equations I cannot get the same expression. My reasoning looks like this (for example, the first equation of the system):

A11.Uxx + A12.Vyx + A13.Wzx + A66.(Uyy + Vyx) + A55.(Wzx + Uzz) = 0

Obviously, I'm doing something wrong. What is my mistake?

Many thanks for your kind help.

Attachments

• upload_2018-7-13_9-56-33.png
    upload_2018-7-13_9-56-33.png
    28.3 KB · Views: 556
Physics news on Phys.org
Maybe they are able to eliminate the cross derivatives by combining the equations with the continuity equation.

1. What is anisotropic elasticity?

Anisotropic elasticity is a branch of mechanics that studies the behavior of materials that have different mechanical properties in different directions. This means that the material's response to external forces is not the same in all directions.

2. What are the equations used in anisotropic elasticity?