How can I use MATLAB for curve fitting and generating an equation for g(f)?

• Thread starter coffeem
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Matlab
In summary, the conversation is about a second year University student in the UK trying to use MATLAB for curve fitting. They have found conflicting information in books and are struggling to use the Curve fitting tool. They also mention needing to generate the function of g(f) using a sample data set, but would prefer pointers instead of a direct answer. They need to have this figured out by tomorrow.
coffeem

Homework Statement

Hi, I am a second year University student in the UK. I am trying to plan my labs and as part of this am trying to work out how I use MATLAB to do some curve fitting. What I wish to do is to get some points and for MATLAB to find me an equation of this curve to a reasonable degree of accuracy. I then need to square this function and finally to integrate it over some limits.

However I have looked up how to do this in a couple of books in my university library and have so far been unable to complete even the first part of this task. In the books which I found on this I am told to use the 'Basic Fitting' function. However the version of MATLAB which I have only has the Curve fitting tool, which does not appear to give me an equation but merely draws a pretty line for me, after around three hours of playing around this is getting somewhat tiresome.

Note - the sample data which I have been trying to use can be downloaded from: http://www.nottingham.ac.uk/~ppzwm/downloadsindex.htm and clicking on the g_of_f.mat link under the Johnson Noise heading. I need to generate the function of g(f). However I would rather that you told me how to do this rather than just providing me with the answer as I have to do this again independently.

Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Hey can someone please give me some pointers for this. I need to have this figured out by tomorrow.