How do I write a report about my 4th year physics research?

In summary: You will need to tailor them to the specific project, the journal in which the project will be published, the audience for the project, and the conventions of the journal.In summary, a fourth year physics student is trying to write a report on the subject of nonlinear optics but is struggling to write in a useful and readable way. He has found that he is just paraphrasing what is written in a textbook and is not writing anything of his own. He is looking for advice on how to write a good report. He is advised to take notes as he reads the book, make a list of key concepts and words, imagine himself talking about the concepts to someone, start writing a paragraph or two about each concept
betelgeuse91
Hi, I am a fourth year physics student currently enrolled in a research project course with a supervisor. It's a research in optics and I need to learn about some nonlinear optics.

For the report, I want to write about what I have learned during the term, for instance, Rayleigh and Raman scattering, but I just don't know how to write a report. I bought a nonlinear optics textbook to study those and started writing the report. But I noticed that I was just paraphrasing what was written in the textbook and not writing something useful. I tried to explain with more details for better readability but I could not get far from just copying the section in the book.

How can I write a good report? Any advise will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
P.S. By the way, the report is expected to be about 20 pages long.

Physics news on Phys.org
Can you ask previous students to see their reports, or find similar reports elsewhere?

I suggest
1. You take notes as you read the book. More like headlines of the most important points, not long sentences
2. Make a list of the key words and concepts.