How should I choose and begin learning about certain research fields?

Alistarco
Hi, im in my third year in physics, and ive been wanting to look for a research field in which i can begin learning about it, such as high energy, or statistical physics, and maybe present my bachelor tesis in any of these fields, but i dont know how to approach these subjects or where to begin with, im currently studying electrodynamics and termodynamics, should i wait and see more advance subjects ?

Physics news on Phys.org
Are you going to your department's colloquia and seminars?

Likes Alistarco
Vanadium 50 said:
Are you going to your department's colloquia and seminars?
Since my deparment was founded about 2 years ago, it doesnt have an established colloquia or seminars, so i started going to the seminars in other university, and there i feel kinda lost with the advanced subjects, so i dont know if i should wait and see other subjects in my career and then go seek for advice in those fields in the other university

Likes symbolipoint
Alistarco said:
im in my third year in physics
Alistarco said:
my deparment was founded about 2 years ago
How did this happen? :oldconfused:

Alistarco said:
i started going to the seminars in other university
I recognize that for privacy reasons, you may feel uncomfortable about telling us which universities you're dealing with, or even which country. Nevertheless, more specific information might help people here give more specific advice. Things work differently in different countries, and even in different universities in some countries. It's up to you to consider the potential costs versus benefits of doing this.

Last edited:
Likes Alistarco and Vanadium 50
jtbell said:
How did this happen? :oldconfused:
Hehe, typing mistake, sorry, i began studying there one semester after the department was founded.
jtbell said: