How to transition from school teacher to programmer?

In summary: However, this is an industry with high turnover, so you'll need to be prepared to keep learning and upgrading your skills.That's correct. The industry is very competitive, and you'll need to be prepared to keep learning and upgrading your skills.
astroman707
I’ve been a school teacher for 6 years, and I want to get into coding. I’ve been told by a CS professor I know that my background is very sought after in the tech industry, and I would be very competitive if I got into coding. Is this true? What’s the best route, bootcamp, nanodegree, etc.? What would my background be most valuable in, software development, web development, ios, etc.?
I know extremely little about the tech industry, so I’m trying to research, but there’s a lot of information to sift through. So thanks for any advice or tips!
Here’s my background:
—education—
BA-psychology
MA- education(specifically, curriculum development and instruction)
—Professional—
Taught primary school for various grades for 6 years.

Physics news on Phys.org
Dunno man. I can get anywhere from one to an army of experienced offshore programmers with reasonable technical skills for $30-$60/hour (sometimes less!) anytime I want. I don't have to pay them any benefits and can turn them loose in a heartbeat.

That's what you're up against. Ask yourself what you need to be competitive with that.

astroman707 said:
I’ve been a school teacher for 6 years, and I want to get into coding. I’ve been told by a CS professor I know that my background is very sought after in the tech industry, and I would be very competitive if I got into coding. Is this true? What’s the best route, bootcamp, nanodegree, etc.? What would my background be most valuable in, software development, web development, ios, etc.?
I know extremely little about the tech industry, so I’m trying to research, but there’s a lot of information to sift through. So thanks for any advice or tips!