I am a 9th grade student and having problems solving this question

• Thread starter physics kiddy
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Student
In summary, the problem asks for the remainder when the sum of fifth powers from 1 to 100 is divided by 4. It is shown that the sum of the first four powers gives a remainder of 0 when divided by 4. The use of mod equations is suggested to simplify the problem. Finally, a formula is given for calculating the sum of fifth powers.
physics kiddy
I am a 9th grade student and having problems solving this question :

What is the remainder when 1^5 + 2^5 + 3^5 + 4^5 + 5^5 + 6^5 ... 100^5 is divided by 4

Physics news on Phys.org

We have;

[itex]1^{5} [/itex] = 1 mod 4
[itex]2^{5} [/itex] = 0 mod 4
[itex]3^{5} [/itex] = 81 * 3 = 3 mod 4
[itex]4^{5} [/itex] = 0 mod 4

and for this partial sum we get 1+0+3+0 = 0 mod 4

Now: what happens with [itex]5^{5}[/itex],[itex]6^{5}[/itex],[itex]7^{5}[/itex],[itex]8^{5}[/itex] compared with [itex]1^{5}[/itex],[itex]2^{5}[/itex],[itex]3^{5}[/itex],[itex]4^{5}[/itex] ?

Regards

physics kiddy said:
I am a 9th grade student and having problems solving this question :
What is the remainder when 1^5 + 2^5 + 3^5 + 4^5 + 5^5 + 6^5 ... 100^5 is divided by 4

I think from your title, you somehow feel that the quotient is material to this problem, but all that is needed is what would be the remainder of the sum of all those powers when divided by 4. Hint, it will be either 0,1,2 or 3. Rama Wolf show that 1^5 + 2^5 + 3^5 +4^5 will give a remainder of zero when divided by 4, i.e. the sum equals zero mod 4.

An important fact about mod equations may be useful to consider here. (a+m)*(b+m) = a*b + (a+b)*m + m^2 = = a*b mod m since the remainder of m^2 + (a+b)*m = 0 when divided by m. Therefore 1^5 == 5^5 mod 4, etc.

Last edited:

Please explain what is mod functions and equations. That's urgent ...