I have no background for my undergraduate studies

In summary: I currently have.In summary, the student had a tough childhood and is now doing well in college despite not having much mathematical or physics knowledge. He is struggling with understanding some of the content and would like to find ways to enjoy it more.
Felipe Lincoln
Gold Member
First I want to say that I had a tough childhood, I always had a job since 14 yo, got out of my mom's house at 17 yo, never been stimulated to study and almost quit school, I'm not blaming parents or so, I had a lot of rich experiences living this way. But hard times has passed, I'm 22 yo now and got my way to self taught the basics to get admitted at a good university and I'm living my dream now.

I'm going to the 4o semester of bachelor in physics and I have to say it's being an amazing course although painful. By painful I mean, I came to the university without much knowledge of mathematics and physics, I merely feels like I can only read and do some operations, but I'm putting 100% effort and getting good grades and learning A LOT.

My point is, I'm able to learn and get along with the course, but I can only learn the basics, can't get more than this because I'm already putting my 100% into this basics, I'm always surrounded by people smarter than me and it surprises me how much they can learn about the content is being taught.

I get amazed when new insights come to PF but when I start reading I always feel uncomfortable and sleepy because I can't get much of what is being presented, I also had no experience in reading books, besides didactic books I have read 0 books in my whole life, so I'm not used to it. I think it makes reading a bit tough for me.

In the vacation between semesters I spend most of my days studying what will be taught next, to make less painful to learn everything when it all begins.