Idea for graphics programming project?

In summary, Kristofer wants to create a project for his graphics programming course that showcases his talent for programming and intuition for physics. He wants to make a physics simulation that renders in real time and is visually appealing and impressive. He is open to simulating something new and unique, such as quantum wavepacket collisions or electron transitions in a hydrogen atom. He is also looking for ideas and suggestions for his project.
TriKri
Hello! I'm studying graphics programming right now, and in the end of this one semester long course we are going to make a project in which we will program an application that displays some nice graphics. I want to take this as an opportunity to show that I have a talent for programming (having a feeling for algorithms, finding possibilities and carrying out interesting simulations, and to visualize these in a good way), that I also have an good intuition when it comes to the fundamental nature of physics, and that I can combine these two together and come up with new solutions. I just don't know the best way to do this. All I know so far is that I probably want to make some kind of physics simulation, and I want it to render in real time. The application should of course be nice to look at, but mostly I want it to be impressive and interesting in some way for the user, so to make him see that something is actually going on under the surface. Basically, what I want to show is that I have an edge in my field and that I can think outside of the box.