Inconsolata font in Vim. Ubuntu.

• MHB
  • Thread starter caffeinemachine
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Font Ubuntu
In summary: Latex Code: \usepackage[utf8]{inputenx}% CTAN: Package inputenx% Euler for math | Palatino for rm | Helvetica for ss | Courier for tt\renewcommand{\rmdefault}{ppl}% rm \linespread{1.05}% Palatino needs more leading \usepackage[scaled]{helvet}% ss CTAN: Package helvet\usepackage{courier}% tt CTAN: Package Courier\usepackage{eulervm} % CTAN: Package eulervm\normalfont%
caffeinemachine
Gold Member
MHB
Hello MHB,

I started 'using' vim editor in Ubuntu three days back. I think it is a great tool to have. However, since I am a newbie at a linux system, to get anything done I have to irritate my friends with a lot of questions, some of which they cannot answer on phone. So here's my latest problem.

I want to use this font on my Vim:
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B77QF0wgZJZ7cDJVZTdzV1l2ZDg/edit

It's name is 'Inconsolata'. I googled "How to install a new font in Ubuntu" and "How to use a font in Vim" and similar searches. I could not understand the responses on Ubunutu forums. They were too terse for a newbie like me.

Can somebody tell me what steps can I follow to get this done?

Thanks.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
sudo apt-get install ttf-inconsolata

Installing the package is the preferred way. If you want to install the font manually, you can simply copy the .ttf files to the ~/.fonts/ directory (for a single user) or (a suitable subdirectory of) /usr/share/fonts/ (system-wide; requires root privileges). The system may require a font cache update to notice your new fonts. Either say something like "fc-cache -vf" or restart the computer.

Then I guess it is necessary to make Vim use this font...

I did what dwsmith said. I typed sudo apt-get install ttf-inconsolata in my terminal. Something happened.

Then I did what Makarov suggested. I wrote fc-cache -vf in my terminal and something happened again.