Is a Computer Science Background Enough for an MS in Astrophysics?

In summary, the individual is interested in pursuing a graduate degree in astrophysics, but their local university does not offer a program specifically focusing on astronomy/astrophysics. They are considering enrolling in a general physics program, but are unsure if it would be a waste of time. They are also considering self-study and using their computer science background to incorporate astrophysics. It is mentioned that the job market for astrophysics is poor and it may be best to pursue it as a hobby. It is advised to carefully consider their background and preparation in physics before enrolling in a graduate program.
frizzlefrazzle
Looking for thoughts. I have recently gained an interest in Astrophysics and have considered going back to school to study the subject. I have a BS in Computer Science, and an MS in Information Technology and I believe my background is close enough to consider an MS program in Physics. However, although my local university has MS/PhD programs in Physics, they have nothing focusing on Astronomy/Astrophysics. There are maybe 1-2 courses actually designated as such but I believe they are both undergraduate and certainly nothing exists at the graduate level. The MS program itself is in Applied Physics only. My question is - would it be a waste of time to attempt to study at this school in particular? Although it would be nice just to pick up and move to another area, I wouldn't be able to for the foreseeable future. And at the same time I know it wouldn't be a waste to gain more advanced knowledge of physics in general even though it's not in the particular field I want to study. Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
I think you should consider it more of a hobby and do self-study for interest. The job market is extremely poor in astrophysics unless you're an outstanding graduate school candidate.