Is it possible to install Microsoft Office without losing my current programs?

• Thread starter Monique
  • Start date
In summary: I bought the player in a store, good store, but they aren't so fast over here.. it took 3 weeks for my notebook to appear (which was actually my luck, otherwise I would't have been given a gift certificate)..Fortunately for me, being a student I got the Office XP Professional free of charge.
Monique
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Gold Member
I recently bought a new computer, but somehow the only programs installed were very basic: Word and Internet Explorer together with Photo Editor, Paint etc.

Access and Powerpoint and Excel weren't installed.

So now I want to install a version of Office that DOES include these additional software programs, but I am not sure if I will loose the stuff that was already on my computer when I install a different Office??

Computer science news on Phys.org
Originally posted by Monique
I am not sure if I will loose the stuff that was already on my computer when I install a different Office??

No, you won't loose any of your documents!

First what version of Office you are going to install?

Office97, Office 2000, or Office XP ?

If you install again without manual intall (not typical) then you may not get the other softwares :(

Hey! Got that template zip?

I am not talking about my documents. I am just not sure how Office works, whether it uninstalls the previous version and installs the new one after that.

I want to install Office 2003, right now I am not sure what I have, Office 10 or something?

So programs such as Photo editor, Paint, etc are all part of Windows and not Office?

I want to install Office 2003, right now I am not sure what I have, Office 10 or something?

Hmm...Office 10 I didn't hear about that :(

So programs such as Photo editor, Paint, etc are all part of Windows and not Office?

Yes! You are correct :)