Is Skipping Calc I and II Worth It? Considerations for Freshman Physics Majors

• Courses
  • Thread starter Phys12
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Calculus
In summary, In order to get into grad school in physics, you need good grades in math courses. If you do well in math, your physics grades will be good too.
Phys12
Hi!

I'm a freshman and I plan to get my bachelor's in Physics. I couldn't get any Physics or Math classes this semester as most were either full or clashing with my mandatory History and English classes.

I gave the Math Placement Test at my university and was able to skip Precalculus classes. Now I got to know about CLEP and I'm planning to skip Calc I and Calc II. I already know a lot of Calc I, but will have to study for Calc II. The is argument I could come up with for and against each for giving both the CELP exams:

1) For: a) If I give the exam, I will not have to sleep through these two classes and will take more advanced classes where I'll actually have to put my brain in.

b) When I apply for grad school, I think that it'll be beneficial for me if they see more advanced classes in my CV.

2) Against: a) Because I have no Math or Physics this semester and only 3 or 4 more core requirements to complete, I feel like it'll get a little too difficult doing only higher Math and Physics so having a few relaxed classes would help.

b) As these are not as advanced classes as Calc III, they will require relatively less effort and would help me boost my GPA.

Any help would be highly appreciated, thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
Phys12 said:
When I apply for grad school, I think that it'll be beneficial for me if they see more advanced classes in my CV.

Yeah sure, but that only applies if you get good grades in those classes. If you skip Calc I and end up with a lack of knowledge in later classes, that could cause you bad grades. The grad schools will have no sympathy for you then.

Likes Student100 and Vanadium 50