Is Studying Medicine and Physics a Good Combination?

In summary, Stewart recommends that a premed student like himself pursue a physics degree as their undergraduate major, then pursue a medical degree and research specialization after that, if they have the desire and are willing to invest the time and money into it.
Aldurazi
Hello all,

I'm hoping that I can get some honest answers here. I'm a premed student at RCSI-MUB. Although I'm going to study medicine, I'm fond of physics specially theoretical physics. In addition, my high school grades in physics were very high. I want to ask you here, what are your opinions about studying medicine and then studying physics? Will this work?

Physics news on Phys.org
As long as you apply yourself you shouldn't have a problem doing it in any order. However, it seems intuitive to me that you would do the physics degree as your undergraduate first, then pursue the MD.

I agree with stewart's suggestion that you do your undergrad major in physics if that is your long-term plan. As long as you supplement it with the required pre-med courses in biology and chemistry, you'll be properly prepared for medical school, and also adequately prepared for an advanced degree in physics later. And, it's important to take those advanced undergraduate physics courses rather than basing your decisions for your future based only on a high school physics experience.

It also gives you two very good options should either one of them fall through. Not everyone gets an acceptance to medical school or graduate school, so having two subjects interest you gives you a lot more opportunity and safety should one of them not work out.