Learn Calculus: Self-teaching Tips & Resources

In summary: There's no harm in doing so, and you may find that the material is more digestible that way. If you just want to get a flavor of higher mathematics, I suggest just watching Khan Academy, OCW lectures or this wonderful series. Otherwise, get down... to the text book! There's no harm in doing so, and you may find that the material is more digestible that way.
Ethan Hummel
Hello everybody, I am currently a sophomore in high school and I am very interested in teaching myself Calculus. I have a good grounding on Algebra and Trig. I am here today to seek guidance of what would be the most effective way and proficient way to go about teaching myself Calculus. I have a textbook by James Steward its called Calculus 5th Edition(very original name :woot:). I would preferably like to take an online course but study at my own pace and I would like to get it done within 3 months. I am aware of resources like MIT OCW and Khan Academy but I do not know which one to choose. Can you guys please offer me guidance also if anybody did teach themselves Calculus, exactly what way did you do it? Thank you very much for any comments in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
Is there a reason for needing to finish in 3 months?

I would recommend just opening up the book and working away. Use Khan Academy as a secondary resource if you find yourself stuck. I don't think the MIT OCW is necessary - in fact I think watching those hour long lectures is time that could be better spent just working through the book!

I am not familiar with Stewart's book but I have heard that it lacks rigor. However if you're only at the HS level maybe it will serve as a good first exposure. I'm sure someone with a better knowledge could enlighten you better than I.

Mondayman said:
Is there a reason for needing to finish in 3 months?