Looking for an Advanced Introduction to Astrophysics text

In summary, the conversation discusses the recommendation of Steven Weinberg's new book as an advanced introduction to astrophysics and the comparison to "Lectures on Astrophysics" by the same author. The speakers also mention the book "Carroll and Ostlie" as the go-to reference for astrophysics. The book is described as dense with lots of math, but with the speaker's background in physics, they believe it will be manageable.
Kolmo
I'm a physicist familiar with QM, QFT and GR etc but I've never really sat down and learned astrophysics properly. Would Steven Weinberg's new book be considered a good advanced introduction or would people recommend another text. Half tempted to get it anyway to complete the Weinberg collection.

Physics news on Phys.org
I was lucky enough to be able to be apart of his "lectures on astrophysics" book as I attended the courses he did while making it. It is a good book but DENSE, lots of math, so I wouldn't say INTRO, but with your background you'll be fine. You might need to review some nuclear when it pops up would be my only concern.

Likes vanhees71, Kolmo and Astronuc

1. What is the best textbook for an advanced introduction to astrophysics?

There are many great textbooks available for an advanced introduction to astrophysics, so it ultimately depends on your personal preferences and learning style. Some popular options include "An Introduction to Modern Astrophysics" by Bradley W. Carroll and Dale A. Ostlie, "Astrophysics for Physicists" by Arnab Rai Choudhuri, and "Introduction to Astrophysics" by Mario Livio. It's always a good idea to read reviews and compare the content and format of different textbooks before making a decision.

2. Is prior knowledge of physics necessary for understanding astrophysics?