Magnitude of EMF when the armature coil is in different positions?

In summary, the textbook states that if an armature coil is placed horizontally into a horizontal magnetic field, the EMF will be at a maximum. This is because the rate of change of the magnetic flux is maximum when the coil is horizontal. The EMF can be calculated using the formulas EMF = BLV or EMF = -(N*Δϕ)/Δt.
Dreaam
I am currently studying for a Magnetism and Electricity exam coming up. I was just wondering, within the topic of Electromagnetic induction; my textbook states that if an armature coil of some sort -either from an AC or DC generator was placed horizontally into a magnetic field that is also horizontal, (so the North pole on the left and south pole on the right, meaning the magnetic field lines would be going --->), then the EMF would be at a maximum. If the coil was vertical the EMF would be a minimum. This picture may explain it better: http://www.rfcafe.com/references/El...ourses/images/electricity-navy-basics-126.jpg

I unfortunately don't understand this and there is no further explanation other than those statements. Could somebody please explain to me why the EMF would be a maximum when the armature coil is horizontal.

Relevant formulas

EMF = BLV
EMF = -(N*Δϕ)/Δt

Thank you for your time.

Physics news on Phys.org
Because the rate of change of the magnetic flux is maximum when the coil is 'horizontal'. The flux itself is zero but the rate of change of flux is maximum:
flux = BA sin(wt), coil is 'horizontal' at t=0 so flux(0) = 0
but d(flux)/dt = wBAcos(wt) which is maximum at t=0 so emf = wBA at t=0.

1. What is the magnitude of EMF when the armature coil is in a vertical position?

The magnitude of EMF when the armature coil is in a vertical position is equal to the product of the magnetic flux density and the length of the coil multiplied by the velocity of the coil.

2. How does the magnitude of EMF change when the armature coil is rotated?