Measuring the period of SHM using sound

In summary, the student is looking to replicate a well-known experiment and is trying to measure the period more accurately. They have a few questions about their experimental setup and are seeking feedback from other experts.
Seanywil
Hello! First time posting here. I'm studying the IB and need to complete my required experimental write-up.
I am looking to replicate the well-known experiment that finds the value of g by investigating the relationship between period and length of string for a simple pendulum.

1. Homework Statement

I am required to put a "twist" on my experiment in order to surprise the examiner by my understanding of physics. I have an idea, but cannot find relevant information on the internet about whether it will work.

Homework Equations

I will be using the length-period equation of a simple pendulum: T = 2pi sqrt(l/g).

The Attempt at a Solution

My idea is to measure the period of the motion more accurately using digital means, rather than the traditional stopwatch. To my understanding this should provide me with a lower absolute uncertainty.

I seek to measure the period by having a constant sound-producing source as the fixed mass on the pendulum and placing a microphone underneath the middle of the SHM (where the object's speed is greatest). I then want to somehow map the change in frequency (according to the Doppler effect) digitally and measure the time difference between each second maximum frequency to determine the period.

I have a few questions:
1) What sort of software is available for this?
2) Is my experimental setup too dodgy? Will it impair the accuracy of my measurements?
--- (My pendulum is two chairs and a broom between them as the experiment will be done at home)

3) Should I take the average of 10 periods, or just the first one? And why?

4) Any further comments on what I should do, and if this will even work will be appreciated. :)

Thanks a lot!

Physics news on Phys.org