Mechanical principles assistance.

In summary, the student is struggling with integrating an angle into their mechanical equations. They need assistance resolving the stresses on a bolt with an angle.
studenteng

Homework Statement

Hello this is my first post.
Im currently studying towards a level three national diploma in engineering operations.
I need some assistance with a mechanical principles problem. ( A crude drawing of the problem has been attached haha)
I need to work out the direct and shear stresses on a pair of bolts with an 18mm diameter. The bolts are installed at a 60 degree angle to the applied load and share the loading equally the pull on the joint they are connected to is 100kn ( both sides). The part of the problem i am struggling with is intergrating the angle into my equations. I can work out shear and direct stresses easily when dealing on flat non angled surfaces, but I am struggling a bit with the angle.
Id appreciate a description of the method needed to work out the direct and shear stresses when dealing with an angle, rather than the actual answer as i won't learn anything. I am thinking ill need to use trigonometry to resolve this problem, as I am stumped in seeing any other way. Maybe some resoloution of forces? Any help will be greatley appreciated.

Homework Equations

-

The Attempt at a Solution

I also need to work out the limiting factor of safety for both bolts, which i can do without any assistance.
I work direct stress to be f/a = 110kn /(pi (18x10 to the -3 ) / 4) = Direct stress per bolt. But once again I am not sure if this is even right as i haven't taken the angle into consideration.
Basically i need some form of assistance.

Attachments

• Untitled.jpg
    Untitled.jpg
    5.1 KB · Views: 401
Physics news on Phys.org
studenteng: Yes, go ahead and break the applied load into components, using trigonometry. You must list relevant equations yourself, and show your work. And then someone might check your math.