Moon Landing Q&A: Solar Winds & Astronauts

In summary, the conversation discusses the potential dangers of solar winds for astronauts during the moon landing. The experts point out that astronauts are protected by Earth's magnetic field to some extent, but they do get pelted with particles. The conversation also touches on the belief in the moon landing and the importance of phrasing questions properly in scientific inquiry. The PF rules are mentioned and the conversation ends with a suggestion to do further research on the topic.
Gaz
I have a question about the moon landing . Wouldn't the solar winds kill any astronaut in space?

Space news on Phys.org
I'm no expert, but I think that even in space they are protected by Earth's magnetic field to some extent. But they do get pelted with various particles (mostly electrons, protons, and alpha particles). For example, I remember reading that an astronaut will see periodic flashes of light when a particle strikes her optic nerve!

I imagine that the walls of the spaceship would also offer some protection.

Gaz said:
I have a question about the moon landing . Wouldn't the solar winds kill any astronaut in space?
Uh ... do you not believe that we have put astronauts in space (and landed some on the moon) and brought them home safely? If you DO believe that has happened, then your question should not be "would this not happen?" but rather "clearly this doesn't happen, but how can it not?".

This may sound like silly semantics to you but my point is that in any kind of scientific inquiry, it is important to phrase questions properly lest you build in a bias towards a particular answer.