Which Major Best Supports a Career in Quantum Computing and AI?

In summary, the conversation is about a student in university who wants to double major in Computer Engineering and Physics or Mathematics in order to work on quantum computers and advanced AI. One person recommends majoring in Physics and Electrical Engineering for a focus on hardware, while another suggests a combination of Computer Engineering and Math for programming. The discussion also touches on the role of Computer Science in Quantum Computing and the importance of seeking advice from researchers in the field.
Jpmcke
Hey all, I'm a student in university who wants to Double Major in Computer Engineering and Physics or Mathematics. Ideally I want to get some time in working on quantum computers and some time in working on advanced AI, so one of the big things I want to do is pick the community's brain on whether CE + Phys or CE + Math major is best for these ambitions.

Physics news on Phys.org
First of all welcome! I plan on getting into QC in the future as well! Your question depends on what you want to do IN Quantum Computing. Personally, I want to get in on the hardware side so it's been recommended to try and Major in Physics and Electrical Engineering.

If you want to get into programming them, you'd probably want to get more involved on the mathematics side, along with Physics.

Likes Jpmcke
Kyle Bernard said:
First of all welcome! I plan on getting into QC in the future as well! Your question depends on what you want to do IN Quantum Computing. Personally, I want to get in on the hardware side so it's been recommended to try and Major in Physics and Electrical Engineering.

If you want to get into programming them, you'd probably want to get more involved on the mathematics side, along with Physics.