Nuclear Physics help please (alpha decay of a Po-216 atom)

In summary, the conversation discusses the alpha decay of polonium (Po-216) into lead (Pb-212), with the lead atom and alpha particle moving in opposite directions with different speeds. The masses of the three isotopes involved in the decay are given, and the question of how the momentum and kinetic energy of the polonium atom compare to the total momentum and kinetic energy of the decay products is raised. The use of E=mc^2 is suggested, but there is uncertainty about which mass to use.
Elon Musk
Homework Statement
Can someone help me with the questions with modern physics (nuclear physics). I am studying modern physics right now, and I need help with this homework question.
Here is a link to the question:

[Link to external question/answer website deleted by the Mentors]
Relevant Equations
E = hf
K hf max = - f
h
p
l =
2 E = m
1619830011259.png

1619830062031.png

1619830107151.png
I think that when an atom of polonium (Po-216) is moving slowly enough that it can be considered to be at rest. The Po-216 undergoes alpha decay and becomes lead ( Ph-212 ), via the reaction 깝 Po → Pb + ta. After the decay. the lead atom is moving to the left with speed v. and the alpha particle is moving to the right with speed . The masses of the three isotopes involved in the decay are given below. Mm216 = 216.001915 u Ma 4.002603 Mpm 212 211991898 u ex 17. How do the momentum and kinetic energy of the polonium atom compare with the total momentum and kinetic energy of the decay products?

I think I should use E-mc^2 to use this problem, but I don't know what to use for mass. Is it the change I am mass?

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Elon Musk said:
I don't know what to use for mass. Is it the change I am mass?
Find the total energy before and after, the total being (sum of KEs) + (sum of rest masses)##\times mc^2##.

1. What is alpha decay in nuclear physics?