Number of points in mesh (Comsol 4.3b)

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of Comsol for a simulation involving a sphere in 3D. The person is looking for help in determining how many points Comsol is evaluating the equation at. It is suggested to check the maximum and minimum size of the tetrahedrals and to view the number of elements and degrees of freedom in order to understand the speed of the simulation. It is also clarified that Comsol does not solve at individual points, but rather uses mesh elements as base functions.
VIEX12
Hello everybody. I'm new with Comsol and I'm working with the 4.3b version. I'm trying a simulation of a sphere (in 3D, of course) and I want to figure out in how many points is Comsol evaluating the ecuation. I know I set the maximum and minimum size of the tetrahedrals (I'm using tetrahedrals in this case), but I don't know how many points is Comsol considerating for solving the problem. I'd be glad if anyone could help me. Thank you very much!

Physics news on Phys.org
I am not sure I quite understand the question.
Are you asking how to find out how many mesh elements Comsol is using?
I am pretty sure that is reported by the solver.

A FEM solver does not solve at really solve at "points" as such, it uses the mesh elements as base functions.

You can see the number of elements by going mesh>statistics. You can also see the number of DOF in the messages tab when the simulation is running. The number of DOF tells you more about the speed of the simulation than the number of elements.

Thank you very much! I thought it solved it point by point, but I was wrong. Thank you both f95toli & bp_psy for your answers!

Hello,