Photon of intermediary energy - Spontaneous Emission

In summary: I think now I understand it better. In summary, the conversation discusses the energy levels of a hydrogen atom and how photons of specific energies can excite the atom to different energy levels. It also touches on the uncertainty principle and how it affects the accuracy of monochromatic light. The difference between spontaneous emission and Rayleigh scattering is also brought up.
jaumzaum
I'm studying spontaneous emission and I'm in trouble to understand the following: In a hydrogen atom we have distinct energy levels with different energy values associated to them.

E1 = -13,6 eV
E2 = -3,4 eV
E3 = -1,51 eV

To go from the first to the second energy level we need a photon of energy 10,2 eV, and to go from the first to the third we need a photon of energy 12,09 eV. What would happen if we inside a monochromatic beam of photons of energy 11 eV in a hydrogen atomic gas. Will the atoms be excited to the second energy level and release the remaining 0.8 eV? Will the atoms not be excited at all? Or will they use 10,2 eV to excite the electron to the second energy level and 0,8 eV to the kinetic/vibration energy of the atom?

Thanks
John

Physics news on Phys.org
Noone?

jaumzaum said:
I'm studying spontaneous emission and I'm in trouble to understand the following: In a hydrogen atom we have distinct energy levels with different energy values associated to them.

E1 = -13,6 eV
E2 = -3,4 eV
E3 = -1,51 eV

To go from the first to the second energy level we need a photon of energy 10,2 eV, and to go from the first to the third we need a photon of energy 12,09 eV.
To be clear, you are now talking about absorption, not spontaneous emission.

jaumzaum said: