Plan for study in the US as an international student

In summary, Max is considering studying physics or engineering in the US after graduating from high school in Germany. He is unsure about the differences between applied physics and a normal physics course and is considering schools that do not require the SAT test. He is interested in the University of Idaho, but is worried about his SAT scores and whether they will be good enough. He is also considering studying in Canada.
HeisenbergGER
Hello dear forum community,

I am a German student, currently engaged in my last year of high school. I am planning to study in the US after I completed my A-Levels. Since I am very interested in physics and engineering, pursuing a career in those field would appeal to me the most. I managed to narrow down my field of study to two courses: Applied Physics or Mechanical Engineering, though I am not quite sure about the differences of applied physics and a normal physics bachelor course. Later switching will not be impossible, I guess. Since this year is coming to an end, I need to apply to different universities in order to secure a college place.