Poisson ratios for Orthotropic materials (composites)

In summary, the speaker is a mechanical engineering student who is learning about composite materials for a project involving fluid structure interaction. They are trying to learn the basics and need to specify three Poisson ratios for an orthotropic material in the FEM software they are using. They have questions about the relationship between the Poisson ratios and how to derive the complete matrix of ratios. They also mention constraints that must hold for a real material and wonder if there are other checks they can do to ensure the consistency of their input dataset.
Arjan82
TL;DR Summary
For an orthotropic material (e.g. carbon reinforced polymer), how to derive the Poisson matrix from 3 values?
I'm new to composite materials. I've studied mechanical engineering but I am actually usually involved in hydrodynamics (in which I've done my masters). However for a project we do fluid structure interaction with composites, and as these things go, you cannot get away with the 'black box' approach (I wish I could sometimes...). So I'm trying to learn the basics.

In the FEM software I use I need to specify three Poisson ratios: ##\nu_{12},\ \nu_{23},\ \nu_{31}## (and also three E and three G moduli). It is orthotropic material (3 symmetry planes). I want to derive the other Poisson ratio's because I want to know if the supplier provided a consistent set of data.

Some questions:
  1. ##\nu_{12}## gives me the strain in 2 direction from the strain in 1 direction, i.e. ##\epsilon_2 = -\nu_{12}\sigma_2/E_2##, correct?
  2. But I believe in general, for orthotropic materials, ##\nu_{12}## is not equal to ##\nu_{21}##. Correct?
  3. If indeed so, can I derive the complete matrix of all Poisson ratios from ##\nu_{12},\ \nu_{23},\ \nu_{31}##? And how?