Preparing for Math & Physics GRE: Tips & Strategies

In summary: I think that taking the GRE in mathematics is a good idea. It can help you show that you are interested in theoretical/mathematical physics. It can also give you a better understanding of what is required to study theoretical/mathematical physics.I was thinking this way: I am not a first year student, but I am applying to top universities. I know that I am good enough to score good in both physics and math GRE. And so, this can complement my flawed grades! (I know. Grades are not everything, but you can't say... that you don't care about your grades.)
Phylosopher
I am taking one year break to work and relieve myself from the burden of the university. I studied physics and minor mathematics. I will apply to PhD or Masters next year. (I will take the GRE next year too).

I took the following materials for my minor math:
- Real Analysis
- Abstract Algebra
- Complex Analysis
- Differential Geometry
- PDE
- Tensor Calculus/Analysis
- Applied math

I am not as good in math as physics. I had my difficulties with it, but I liked all the courses.

I was thinking of taking both GRE exams, one in physics and the other in mathematics, because I want to apply for theoretical/mathematical physics. (Not sure yet which one)

My questions:
- Would that supplement my resume if I made relatively good to excellent scores?
- I looked at math GRE martial requirements and it seems very broad and vague compared to the physics GRE which is specific. What math material should I focus on?I expect to get in physics GRE excellent to good. In math GRE I expect to get OK to good. (I am currently revising both, physics and math materials and I am taking my time studying them)

Footnote: I am prioritizing the physics GRE of course, but if I have the time I will do the math GRE.

Physics news on Phys.org
Phylosopher said: