Projectile Motion problem (is my textbook wrong?)

In summary, you are a self-taught beginner at Physics who just needs a little help with this question.
Element1674

Homework Statement

"A slingshot fires a stone horizontally from a tower 32 metres high, and it lands 135 metres from the foot of the tower. What was the speed at which it left the slingshot?"
Verticle Height = 32m
Horizontal Distance = 135m

The Attempt at a Solution

I first calculated the time the rock is in the air using t=sqrt(2s/g). I got 2.55s which is the same as the textbook. However, the textbook then calculates the velocity of the rock using s/t. They get an answer of 53m/s. However this is where I'm confused: isn't this calculating the average speed of the stone?

Alternatively, I calculated the inital velocity of the stone using s=(Vi)(t) + 0.5(a)(t^2). You know all variables in this equation (s=135m, t = 2.55s, a = 9.8m/s^2) so I just rearranged to find the inital velocity.

I'm a self-taught beginner at Physics who just needs a little help with this question :(

Physics news on Phys.org
Element1674 said:

Homework Statement

"A slingshot fires a stone horizontally from a tower 32 metres high, and it lands 135 metres from the foot of the tower. What was the speed at which it left the slingshot?"
Verticle Height = 32m
Horizontal Distance = 135m

The Attempt at a Solution

I first calculated the time the rock is in the air using t=sqrt(2s/g). I got 2.55s which is the same as the textbook. However, the textbook then calculates the velocity of the rock using s/t. They get an answer of 53m/s. However this is where I'm confused: isn't this calculating the average speed of the stone?

Alternatively, I calculated the inital velocity of the stone using s=(Vi)(t) + 0.5(a)(t^2). You know all variables in this equation (s=135m, t = 2.55s, a = 9.8m/s^2) so I just rearranged to find the inital velocity.

I'm a self-taught beginner at Physics who just needs a little help with this question :(