Proving Continuity of f(x) = x Using Deltas and Epsilons

Okay wise guy, you say L is the limit. Prove it! You have to show me why you think that L is the limit."The wise guy..."Okay, let me give it a shot. I think that L is the limit because for any epsilon that you choose, I can find a delta that works."The doubter..."Okay, prove it. Show me that for every epsilon I can find a delta that works."The wise guy..."Sure thing! Let's start by choosing an epsilon. I'll call it epsilon. Now, I'm going to find a delta that will work for this epsilon. I'll call it delta. So, for any x that satisfies |x-a|
Moogie
Hi

I'm new to calculus and I'm teaching myself so please be kind to me :)

How do you prove that f(x) = x is continuous at all points? I know a little bit about deltas and epsilons. I know that for a positive epsilon it is possible to get a delta such that

|(fx) - L| < epsilon for all x that satisfy 0 < |x-a| < delta

but i don't know if that can be applied here

I know that for f(x) = x then if it is continuous then you have to prove

lim (x->a) (fx) = f(a) for all x (i know the definition is more precise)

You can rewrite
lim (x->a) (fx) = f(a)

as

lim (x->a) x= a

but this makes sense intuitively but is it a proof? How could you show this with deltas and epsilons.

I hope this isn't asking too much as I don't think its a hard answer for someone who knows what they are talking about

thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
This is one of those problems where the answer comes so fast from the definition that it's hard to see that you actually found it

The basic definition: For some value a, given [tex]\epsilon[/tex], we need to prove there exists [tex]\delta[/tex] such that if [tex]|x-a|<\delta[/tex], then [tex]|f(x)-f(a)|<\epsilon[/tex]. The first step is to substitute f(x) into this: f(x) is just x, and f(a) is just a.