QCD vacuum and anomaly [Axions]

In summary, the paper discusses the strong CP problem and axions, focusing on the U(2)_A x U(2)_V global symmetry for massless quarks in QCD and the resulting axial current divergence. Questions are raised about the transformations and the gauge transformation of A. The paper also briefly mentions an SU(2) gauge transformation for an SU(2) QCD theory. The approximate symmetry of isospin is also mentioned and its experimental verification. The transformation \Omega(x) is discussed in terms of going to unity at spatial infinite with a specific phase.
ChrisVer
Gold Member
I am studying this paper about the strong CP problem and axions by R.D. Peccei:
http://arxiv.org/abs/hep-ph/0607268
At the moment I read through the introduction and I have some questions about some points, so please could you help me clear out some things?. [In general I'll try to feed back this thread with more questions around the topic].

#1. It says that for massless quarks, and 2 light quarks [for QCD scale] we have an approximate global symmetry [itex]U[2]_V \times U[2]_A [/itex], so a vector and axial current symmetry. However if I look at the massless lagrangian [just the kinetic term] I have:
[itex] \mathcal{L}= i \bar{q} \gamma^\mu \partial_\mu q [/itex]
What are the transformations done for the U[1] cases? I think the axial will have something like [itex]\propto \exp[ia \gamma_5][/itex]. In that case I don't see how the [itex] \exp[-ia \gamma_5] \gamma^\mu \exp[ia \gamma_5]= \gamma^\mu[/itex] (it's not even a symmetry for the massless lagrangian)

#2. In Eq 1: I am having a problem in seeing that the triangle chiral anomaly gives rise to a divergence to the axial current of the form: [itex] \partial_\mu J^\mu_5 = g F^{\mu \nu}_a \tilde{F}_{a \mu \nu}[/itex]. Do you have any source where I can see how does someone extract this result?

#3. In Eq 7: The gauge transformation of [itex]A[/itex] goes like: