Question for my Physics Project.

In summary: And the drag force acting on it will depend on its size, shape, and speed relative to the air. This is why bacteria can be carried by the air for long distances - because they have a small size and low mass, so the drag force can keep them suspended in the air.
Kuzey Cem

Homework Statement

Some disease-causing bacteria are carried by the air. Why don't these organisms fall to the ground as other objects?

Homework Equations

Drag equation might be useful here (I think)

The Attempt at a Solution

I think it is because of air resistance. It is the force that are in opposition to the relative motion of an object moving through the air. It depends on velocity. It is calculated by using the drag equation.
However, I couldn't really figure out the connection between these.

Hi I am Kuzey Cem and I am a 12 year old student in Turkey. I am interested in any science, especially Physics and Biology.

Homework Statement

Which normally requires more work: pulling the piston of a water pump out of the cylinder or pushing it back in?

Homework Equations

I think it is related to pressure, and also force. But I don't know how pistons really work.

Homework Statement

When you wipe your feet to the carpet, how do your voltage and that of the carpet change?

Homework Equations

I found out that this is about static electricity and charges.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF;
Some disease-causing bacteria are carried by the air. Why don't these organisms fall to the ground as other objects?
i.e. what makes things float?

I think it is because of air resistance. It is the force that are in opposition to the relative motion of an object moving through the air. It depends on velocity. It is calculated by using the drag equation.
However, I couldn't really figure out the connection between these.
Some other force opposing gravity is a good start, and drag is one of them.