RE- TI Nspire CX CAS vs Casio Classpad vs TI 89

In summary: In fact, I would strongly discourage students from bringing their laptops to the class, since that would be the most productive use of their time.
mcintyrelr20
HI y'all! I was just told by my programming teacher that I need a new graphing calculator. She told me to decide between the TI 89, Casio Classpad fx-cp400 (or fx cp500) or the TI-Nspire CX C.A.S. I don't know if greyscale or color matters though in the long run. I am a programmer and need something more advanced, but still easy to use. I am also learning higher math right now (calculus, linear and abstract algebra). What would you recommend out of those three? Thanks- mcintyrelr20
:)

Last edited:
Computer science news on Phys.org
It is hard to believe a programming instructor would recommend the Ti-Nspire as a it is a pretty closed system. The Casio system is far newer and more modern than the other two. The Ti-89 is a very capable, but lacks color and touch screen vs the Casio.
Is learning programming or math the main objective. Some calculators are more aligned to be math tools than calculators, the Ti-Nspire being a prime example. It is a Math tool to learn math with, but an awful calculator to crunch numbers.

Likes George Jones
Programming is the main objective, but i also need to know some math. Thanks for your feedback!

What is a closed system? I know open source software (Such as Linux) let's you edit the source code. Would the cx cas be good or should i go with the 89?

Actually for a simple programming platform, all are fairly good. But you will be learning BASIC or a derivative of BASIC. I would use whatever the instructor plans to use. However, all of these calculators are limited in features and functions compared to any language that you can use on a PC. In fact, if you have access to a laptop, you would be better off using that, than learning any calculator programming. But that is only my opinion.