Reaction between hydrogen halide and sulfuric acid

• Thread starter yucheng
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Reaction
In summary, this reaction occurs when concentrated sulfuric acid and sodium bromide are mixed. The halides are protonated and the reaction proceeds until the halides are displaced by gaseous hydrogen iodides. This can be easily confirmed by using less concentrated acid.
yucheng
I am studying the reaction

$$\ce{NaX(s) + H2SO4(conc.) -> NaHSO4 + HX \uparrow} \tag{1}$$

with the conditions similar to this video below

Solid halides with concentrated sulfuric acid

What reaction is this? Precipitation reaction? In other words, will sodium bisulfate be precipitated? I believe it would in the case of concentrated sulfuric acid

Does it make a difference if sulfuric acid is in its molecular form as opposed to dissociated form?
This is related to the question: what if concentrated acid was replaced with dilute acid? Apparently this works for bromides (see Handbook of Preparative Inorganic Chemistry see page 285) But isn't sodium bisulfate soluble? I'm thinking of putting table salt in dilute sulfuric acid etc. Will we get hydrochloric acid solution?

Why would this reaction even occur in the first place for both dilute and concentrated sulfuric acid? (See my post below). I hope there is a better reason than "thermodynamics".....

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
Chemistry news on Phys.org
My first thought was that (1) appears to be a Bronsted-Lowry acid-base reaction, right? Why would the halides be protonated? Is this related to displacement of weak acid by strong acids? But aren't HCl, HBr, HI stronger than H2SO4?

I would classify it as a double displacement.

The driving factor here is the fact that produced hydrides of halogens are gaseous and - if you use a strong acid - they have no solution to dissolve in. In effect they quickly disperse and run away from the mixture. Thermodynamically it is the entropic factor -TΔS.