Relationship between material mass and weight

In summary, the relationship between material mass and weight is constant and proportional, although the concepts of material mass and weight are different.
The apprentice
Homework Statement
Newton's second law
Relevant Equations
w=mg

What does it mean that the relationship between material mass and weight is constant and proportional?​

renderTimingPixel.png

Hi! Yes, another question... I have many doubts. :)
I hope someone can help me with this apparently very basic doubt, but I feel like a stupid monkey trying to join two sticks to reach bananas and without success. My English is not good, I am Mexican and I am still learning it.

I am very new to the world of science, and I have started from the basics. With popular books like "Cosmos" and "History of Time", etc. But I really want to get into this and I started with arithmetic. I have started reading a book on arithmetic, and I found this definition:
Weight

It is not possible to determine directly the amount of matter contained in a body; but it is known that the greater its material mass, the greater the attraction that gravity exerts on it, that is, the greater its weight. This relation between material mass and weight is constant and proportional.

Observing the bodies that appear in Nature and mentally separating all their other qualities, to focus only on the attraction that gravity exerts on them, we arrive at the concept of weight. Because of the constant relation that exists between the material mass of a body and its weight, to the point of being expressed with the same number, we will dispense in this work of speaking in a systematic way about the material mass of bodies, to refer only to their weight. But keep in mind that the concepts of material mass and weight are different.