Should I Choose a UK or Canadian University for my Post-Military Education?

• Schools
  • Thread starter FlyingPhysicist
  • Start date
  • Tags
    University
In summary, the individual is a high school graduate from the 2017/2018 year with an average of 88%. They scored an 85% in AP Physics and 82% in AP Calculus. Due to mandatory military service in their country, they have not yet attended university and will finish their service in December of this year. They have received offers from the University of Birmingham and the University of Durham in the UK, both of which require them to complete a foundation year starting in January 2020 before enrolling in September 2020. They also want to apply to the University of Toronto in Canada, but this option would not include a foundation year and would take one extra year to graduate. They are wondering if this extra
FlyingPhysicist
Hello PF. I graduated HS in the 2017/2018 year with an average of 88%
In AP physics I scored an 85%, and 82% in my AP Calculus class. I didn't attend university yet because of the mandatory military service in my country. I will finish my service in December of this year.

I recently got an offer from the University of Birmingham and the University of Durham at the UK. Both require me to take a foundation year starting January of next year before enrolling to the university in September 2020, the foundation year seems like a good thing to me because it will refresh me since I stopped my education for over a year and also the UK bachelors degree is only 3 years long which means it will make up for some of the time I wasted while serving in the military.