Study in Canada or the UK to become a physicist?

In summary, the speaker is an international student studying physics and is deciding between the University of Toronto and the University of Manchester for their undergraduate studies. They are unsure which university will give them a better chance of success and help them complete their PhD quickly. They mention the benefits of studying in Canada for securing a job and permanent residency, but note that the UK only requires four years for undergraduate and master's degrees. However, they also mention that it is rare for students in Canada to go straight from a BSc to a PhD program, as it is more common to enroll in an MSc first. The speaker also suggests comparing the opportunity for research and internships at both universities. They also mention that the UK's undergraduate degree is typically three years
Brianna
Hello everyone. I am an international student going for my undergraduate studies in physics. I want to go to the University of Toronto and the University of Manchester, but I am unable to choose between the two. Which of the two universities is best to study physics, can give me a better chance of success, and help me complete my Ph.D. quickly? People say going to Canada will secure a job and PR once I graduate, but the UK needs only 4 years to complete bachelor's and master's, as opposed to 5 years in Canada. My ultimate goal is to become a physicist and work in a really good field wherever it may be in the world.

Physics news on Phys.org
I cannot speak to the universities, but there are few reasons to get a master’s before applying to Ph.D. programs. This is a US perspective.

Likes Brianna
Brianna said:
but the UK needs only 4 years to complete bachelor's and master's, as opposed to 5 years in Canada.
Typically in Canada it's six years... four years for a BSc plus two more for an MSc.