Should I major in Physics & Astronomy or Physics & Math?

In summary, it would bewise to get a combined major in Physics and Math if you wish to study theoretical cosmology, but choosing to do a combined major in Physics and Astronomy may be more valuable if you plan to minor in math.
gracetomasi
I'm currently in my first year of a combined major in Physics and Astronomy. I'm hoping to study theoretical cosmology, and get a PhD in physics. I've been told it would be wise to get a double major in Physics and Math if I wish to study theory, but would it also be wise to get a combined major in Physics and Astronomy, and minor in math? I'm unsure of which route to take

Physics news on Phys.org
Country?

Canada

Which university?

at UVIC

I had a look at the 2 programs in question. It seems like the Physics & Math combined major actually requires 3 more courses than the Physics & Astronomy. If you did Astro you could use a few of your regular electives to take some of the additional math courses required in Phys/Math but it would still leave you short about 3 math courses.

Alternatively you could use some of the electives in Phys/Math to take some Astro courses leaving you similarly short about 3 Astro courses than if you had done the Physics/Astronomy double major.

I didn't check the requirements for declaring a minor, but in Phys/Astro you get 6 free electives with 3 being in first year and for Phys/Math you get 5 free electives with 3 also being in 1st year. Does that give enough credits to be able to declare a minor? Either way the question basically becomes which would be more valuable: being able to take 3 additional Math courses or Astronomy courses?

Likes Vanadium 50
I believe if I chose to minor in either math or astronomy, I would most likely meet the requirements for acquiring a minor. I'm leaning towards a minor in math and a major in physics and astronomy, but I am concerned that I may feel behind in the math area once I enter my master's.