(Space) Industry - Different Paths Towards It

In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's interest in natural sciences and their desire to find a career that allows them to solve real-world problems. They debate between pursuing a degree in physics or engineering, specifically mechanical engineering, and express concern about the time and financial commitment of pursuing a dual degree. They also mention their goal of working in the space industry and receiving conflicting advice on the best path to achieve it. Ultimately, they are encouraged to focus on their current classes and worry about their bachelor's degree later.
spacelime
Hello! I am a returning student, 19YO, and will be starting back in community college in a month retaking classes I failed the first go-around with college. This is hopefully less of a "tell me what to do" thread, and more of a "clarify my misconceptions."

Basically, I am very interested in a large variety of things within the natural sciences. For instance, I'm quite fascinated with materials research that bridges biological systems with "engineering problems" -- growing organisms to sequester pollutants/micro-plastics, or replacements for leather. I thought I was going to do welding (for misguided financial reasons), but found learning about grain structures in metal/metallurgy was more exciting than doing pipes for a career. I've always been deeply connected to the urge to understand the world, and in my - albeit limited - education in the sciences, I have found more and more to be excited about.

One thing I value is a tangible connection to the concepts. Arbitrary knowledge is great for some things, but I look at the world more as a series of problems to solve. Climate change? What are we going to do about it? Agriculture unsustainable? How are we going to maximize efficiency and nutrition? This leads me to think that a career in academia is not the right choice.