Special & General Relativity: CTC Metrics in Cylindrical Coordinates

In summary: The Kerr metric is not valid for describing the exterior of the rotating Tipler cylinder, but it is valid for describing the negative energy density required.
YRC
I am studying metrics that exhibit CTCs. I was looking at a few different metrics...
Tipler's solution
Godel metric
Kerr metric
For starters to compare them, I am trying to convert said metrics into cylindrical coordinates. Thanks in advance for any help😃

Likes vanhees71
Physics news on Phys.org
YRC said:
I am trying to convert said metrics into cylindrical coordinates.
What have you found in sources that you have looked at? For the last two, at any rate, it should be easy to find expressions for the metrics in cylindrical coordinates.

Likes vanhees71
PeterDonis said:
What have you found in sources that you have looked at? For the last two, at any rate, it should be easy to find expressions for the metrics in cylindrical coordinates.
I understand that the coordinate transform for the Godel metric would look like this, ##x^{\alpha}=(t, x, y, z)=(t, r\cos{\phi}, r\sin{\phi}, z)## for cartesian and cylindrical coordinates. The cylindrical metric itself is given by ##g_{t,t}=c^2##,##g_{r,r}=1/(1+(r/2a)^2)##, ##g_{\phi,\phi}= -r^2(1-(r/2a)^2)##, ##g_{z,z}=-1## and ##g_{t,\phi}=r^2*c/(\sqrt{2}a), g_{\phi,t}=r^2*c/(\sqrt{2}a)## right? That's what I found for Godel, For the Tipler cylinder I found it in cylindrical coordinates... ds^2 = H(dr^2+ dz^2 ) + Ldϕ^2 + 2Mdϕdt − Fdt^2 , What about the Kerr metric that is commonly expressed in Boyer-Lindquist coordinates?

Mentors' note: The Latex was posted without the required delimiters. We've edited in the delimiters but have not otherwise cleaned up the formatting. OP, would you please finish this cleanup?

Last edited by a moderator:
YRC said:
I am studying metrics that exhibit CTCs.