String Theory, which is stronger, Caltech or Stanford?

In summary, the speaker is an international student from China who has received offers for a PhD position from both Caltech and Stanford in the field of high energy theory. While both schools are highly reputable in physics, Stanford has more professors in this specific area compared to Caltech. However, Caltech's faculty focuses more on the mathematical aspects of the field. The speaker is struggling to decide between the two schools due to this difference in focus. Both schools have offered financial support, with Stanford offering a higher salary but the cost of living in the San Francisco Bay area needs to be taken into consideration.
LiXinghe
Hello everyone. I am an international student from China. Currently I received offers of a PhD position from both Caltech and Stanford. I applied for Hep-th and my main interests are formal field theories and string theory.

I know both Caltech and Stanford are great schools in physics. And it seems that Stanford has more professors in high energy theory than Caltech. However when I look more carefully, most of the professors at Stanford focus on phenomenology. And Caltech faculties (like S.Gukov, A.Kapustin) focus more on the mathematical aspects. Then it's hard for me to decide which graduate school to go.

BTW: Stanford offers me TA+RA position with salary 36K. Caltech offers me a fellowship of 32K. But financial reasons aren't important, are they?

Physics news on Phys.org
LiXinghe said:
Stanford offers me TA+RA position with salary 36K. Caltech offers me a fellowship of 32K.

You need to take the cost of living into account. The San Francisco Bay area (Stanford) is notoriously very expensive. The area near Caltech (Pasadena / Los Angeles) is still expensive, but maybe somewhat less so.

1. What is String Theory?