Teaching yourself modern physics

In summary, the conversation revolved around a software engineer's interest in self-teaching modern physics and the necessary mathematical foundation for it. The main topics mentioned were calculus, vector calculus, differential geometry, matrices, group theory, real analysis, complex analysis, probability and statistics. The participants also emphasized the importance of mathematics in physics and provided a helpful link for further guidance.
pamparana
Hello everyone,

I am a software engineer by profession. However, I would love to teach myself Physics and would like to gain a deeper understanding of modern physics. I know it is quit a daunting tasks but I am determined to make it happen, even if it takes a few many years!

I understand that I will need to build a very extensive mathematical foundation for this. I am pretty comfortable with calculus, linear algebra but am not a Mathematician and would probably struggle (on very good days!) with some of the math involved.

So, my question to you guys is, what are the mathematical topics that one should be comfortable with before trying to study physics in some depth? What is the progression of the Mathematical topics that I should cover?

Thanks,

Luca

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi Luca, welcome to PF.

Calculus of course is a main one. Vector calculus, differential geometry, matrices, group theory, real analysis, complex analysis, probability and statistics.. the list goes on.
A physicist can never know enough mathematics, mathematics is like a physicists toolbox.

edit : Just found this, http://www.superstringtheory.com/math/math1.html

Great! Thanks for that link. Time to get cracking then :)

Luca

No problem!
Good luck! :wink:

Related to Teaching yourself modern physics

1. What is the best way to start teaching myself modern physics?