Textbook to Precede Physics of Semiconductor Devices (Sze)

In summary: It's very practical and easy to follow. Overall, definitely check out the VLSI design textbook list on the VLSI design subreddit for more recommendations.In summary, the conversation discusses the recommendation of a textbook on Physics of Semiconductor Devices for a module on VLSI design, but the person finds it overwhelming and not suitable for their background in Electronic Engineering. They ask for suggestions for other textbooks and are directed to a Google search for Semiconductor Physics textbooks for VLSI design, as well as recommendations from other users. The conversation also mentions the book "CMOS VLSI Design" as a practical and easy to follow option.
fonz
I was recommended to read Physics of Semiconductor Devices by Sze which I was told was the standard textbook for the subject. My background is Electronic Engineering and not physics. After reading the first few pages of the first chapter I am completely overwelmed. I can't make sense of the discussion on crystal structures, lattice notation etc. It then goes on to talk about energy-momentum relationship and band gap by introducing the wavefunction.

I am using this textbook for a module on VLSI design but I feel like this book is for physicists and not engineers. This clearly is not the right textbook for me but there is nothing in the Preface or Introduction that suggests what should precede this. I would be interested to hear any suggestions

Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
berkeman said:

Thanks for the response. There are a lot of options to choose from and I'm going to have a look in more detail. It's disappointing that the so called standard text doesn't introduce the subject at a more fundamental level.