Semiconductor Devices for a beginner/non-physics major

In summary, if you are a computer science graduate with little to no background in physics, it is recommended that you start with an introductory modern physics book such as "Concepts of Modern Physics" or "Modern Physics". These books will provide you with the foundations you need to understand semiconductor and solid state physics. From there, you can move on to more advanced books such as Krane's "Modern Physics" and Neamen's "Semiconductor Physics Devices". It is also suggested to avoid Kittel's book on solid state physics as an introductory text.
hasniali
I have joined a research lab on semiconductor nano devices and have been recommended to study the Robert F. Pierret book "Fundamentals of Semiconductor Devices" but unfortunately I could not understand most of the concepts after reading first three chapters. I am a computer science graduate with little to no background in physics. Please guide me about the resources to understand the above mentioned book adequately or any other book to start with. Thanx
(I have also asked a similar question in Academic Guidance section but may be this is the more appropriate forum to ask this question)

Physics news on Phys.org
I would probably start with books on electrical engineering.

Likes 1 person
OdinsTech said:
I would probably start with books on electrical engineering.
Can you please suggest some readings in this regard?

Try Kittel's "Introduction to Solid State Physics"; it is an introductory text, though it does assume some familiarity with physics. It is a widely available classic.

Likes 1 person
I am assuming you have taken at least a year of intro physics? If so, then I would suggest a reasonable book on "modern physics" to get you the background you need. When I took an undergrad ee semiconductor device class out of a similar book (Muller and Kamins) we had to take quantum and solid state physics first, but that was a little overkill in my opinion.