Textbooks on Optics: Alternatives to Hetch-Zajac's "Optics"

In summary, the author recommends two books - one that is heavy and verbose, and one that is scattered and difficult to understand. The first book is better for learning about interference and diffraction, while the second is better for learning about Fourier transforms.
Sokolov
I'm looking for an alternative textbook to the Hetch-Zajac's one. I am a physics undergraduate student, and this is the recommended book for the subject, so I would like to find a book that covers more or less the same topics.

There are two main problems I find at Hetch:
  1. Firstly, its extreme verbosity, which often makes it very heavy to read. It tends to wander off and get lost in the details.
  2. On the other hand, and especially, I find annoying how scattered is all the information it includes. A greater synthesis of the information would help a lot to assimilate the contents. A couple of tables summarizing the main formulas, for example, would be welcome.
I am particularly interested in themes 9, 10, 12 and 13 of the fifth edition: interference, diffraction, coherence and modern optics.

Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
I had the exact same impression of Hecht's book when I was a student. Here are some recommendations - pick which ever work for you or are available.

Pohl's Introduction to Physics: Volume 2: Electrodynamics and Optics by Pohl (& Pohl)
Modern Optics by Robert D. Guenther
Handbook of Optics Volume 1 of 3rd edition
Introduction to Statistical Optics by Edward L. O'Neill
Introduction to Nonlinear Optics by Geoffrey New

Likes Sokolov
Of course there's also the all-time classic by Born and Wolf.

Likes PhDeezNutz and Sokolov
If this is your first foray into optics, Born and Wolf isn't the book to learn from.

Born and Wolf might be the hardest book to read I ever had. There's good stuff in there, but it's better as a reference when all else has failed, IMO.