The Ensemble Interpretation and the Double Slit Experiment

In summary, the wave function collapse is not a fundamental postulate of quantum mechanics as many people believe, but is instead a consequence of our lack of understanding of how measurement works.
jbergman
TL;DR Summary
How does the Ensemble Interpretation explain the double slit experiment?
I am a big fan of Ballentine's book on QM and was reading the discussions about the Ensemble Interpretation. Although, I am not an expert on these matters I reject the idea of the wave function collapse as a fundamental postulate of QM. Instead, I've come to the conclusion that we don't understand measurement well enough and instead believe that measurement alters the state of that being measured in a way that gives the appearance of collapse.

What I can't quite resolve with the Ensemble Interpretation is how it explains the double slit experiment. From what I understand, one can send electrons through a double slit and still get interference even if they are sent hours apart. Therefore, in some sense a particle must be interfering with itself. This doesn't feel consistent with the Ensemble Interpretation, does it? It feels more Everettian.

I'm hoping that someone can explain how to think about this in the Ensemble Interpretation.

• Skeptical
Likes PeroK
Physics news on Phys.org
jbergman said:
From what I understand, one can send electrons through a double slit and still get interference even if they are sent hours apart.

You can get interference in the sense that the pattern that will eventually be built up on the detector screen will be an interference pattern, yes. But you can't see interference in a single electron's impact--that's just a dot somewhere on the detector screen.

jbergman said:
Therefore, in some sense a particle must be interfering with itself.