The meaning of the delta dirac function

In summary, ρ(x,y,z) = cδ(x-a) represents a function with units of charge density (C/m^3) where x is one of the three coordinates and "a" represents a point along the x-axis with infinite charge density. The expression x-a = 0 defines the whole plane x = a, meaning that any point (a,y,z) has an undefined charge density.
anban

Homework Statement

For a function ρ(x,y,z) = cδ(x-a), give the meaning of the situation and describe each variable.

Homework Equations

As far as units go, I know that:

ρ(x,y,z) = charge density = C/ m^3
δ(x-a) = 1/m
and if those two are correct, then b must have units of (C/m^2), which is some sort of surface charge distribution.

The Attempt at a Solution

I'm new to delta dirac functions and my understanding is very superficial. When the function is not inside an integral, I especially don't understand it!

I think that "a" represents some sort of center point where there is infinite charge density, and x is the distance from the center.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
hi anban! :smile:
anban said:
ρ(x,y,z) = cδ(x-a)

I think that "a" represents some sort of center point where there is infinite charge density, and x is the distance from the center.

no, x is one of the three coordinates, (x,y,z)

hint: describe where is δ(x-a) ≠ 0 ? :wink:

I'm not sure that I understand-- does δ(x-a) ≠ 0 when x=a?

The way I am thinking about this now is that x-a is some coordinate point along a line?

eg hi anban! :smile:

(just got up :zzz:)
anban said:
The way I am thinking about this now is that x-a is some coordinate point along a line?

your mathematical language is rather strange :redface:

x-a is just an expression, you need to put it in a sentence

eg x-a = 0 is the whole plane x = a,

ie the points (a,y,z) for any values of y and z :wink: