The power of the human eye's lens

In summary: The rays from O2 are still focused in front of the retina.This is why when you look at an object from a distance, it can look blurry when you focus in close because the lens is gradually changing its power to bring the rays from the object in focus onto the retina.
Asmaa Mohammad
Hello,
I read in my physiology book that when the ciliary muscle relaxes, the power of the eye lens decreases, hence we get the ability to see far objects.

I am new to physiology, and when I googled "the power of the eye lens" I didn't find articles explain the sentence above simply.

So I would appreciate if someone explains for me how would the decrease of the lens power makes us see far objects?

Thanks in advance!

Biology news on Phys.org
The power of the lens refers to how much it bends the light.
When the lens is relatively flat, it will not bend the light very far, so it is well suited for distant objects.
When it is more bulgy, its forward and rear surface are more curved, and the light is bent further - it is more powerful. This is what is needed to focus on item in the foreground.

Likes BillTre, Asmaa Mohammad and jim mcnamara
To understand how the lens works, you need to understand a little about how the light coming from an object behaves as the distance between the object and the eye changes. Let's consider 3 examples:

A. An object placed far away from the eye.
B. An object very close to the eye.
C. An object in between.

First, note that light reflected (or emitted) by a single point on the object moves outwards away from the object in a large cone. Part of this expanding cone of light is then captured by the cornea and pupil. So we can say that the light that is captured by the eye forms its own cone with a smaller angle than the larger cone, whose light goes everywhere else. In the image below, object O1 corresponds to example A, object O2 corresponds to example B, and object O is example C.